In general, you may attend traffic school if you have not attended traffic school in California in the past 18 months and have a valid California license. (The 18 months is from the date of violation to the date of violation.) Your courtesy notice will say if you are eligible for traffic school
If you qualify for traffic school
- Pay your fine and the $62.00/$67.00 administrative fee by mail or online here: Pay Your Traffic Ticket Online, or
- Go to the clerkâ€™s office at the court location on the bottom of your ticket and pay the fine and the $62.00/$67.00 traffic school administrative fee.
- Get the List of In-person Traffic Schools from the Department of Motor Vehicles
It is your responsibility to make sure that the court receives your completed traffic school certificate.
Note: If you attended an online traffic school, the court will receive an electronic certificate from the online school.
NOTICE: If you are eligible and decide not to attend traffic school your automobile insurance may be adversely affected. One conviction in any 18-month period will be held confidential and not show on your driving record if you complete a traffic violator school program.